Age Of Solitude

joe-desousa-119050

My demons are relentless

They are shadow serpents
sinking venom teeth
charcoal vapor expelling
from a Cheshire smile
brilliant pearly glimmer
disconnected from their eyes

They taint disillusioned truth
color-shaded in ashes of heartbreak
hungry, feeding on inferiority
a collective parody of self-doubts
perplexing hatred and destruction

My secret lies splattered painted
upon the walls of frozen memory

I taste the eclipse, expanding
this ill perception of self

Explosive cherry bombs
igniting along the tip of my tongue
unsavory, bittersweet grievances
forcing the madness down my throat
an accidental rejection of my being

I plead for them to go,
these foul things,
but their hands reach inside me
clutching onto my heart,
thunderous against my chest
I can feel the formation
of my struggling breath

My adversaries of light, they whisper

“You can die by your own hand”

“A consolation gift for your errors”

I venture into a symphony of despair

The sands of time
slip between my fingertips
as I fixate on the impregnable chaos
occupying a permanent space in my head

Ghosts of former times,
blemishes on darkness
plucking melancholia
from tempestuous skies

Nocturnal creatures
weaving aborted entrails
the manifestation of my futile regret
slaughtering glimpses of joy
to defy this descending weakness

“I do not want death” I scream.

Overcome by feelings of revulsion
visceral maggots crawling
uncomfortably beneath my skin

Shapeless intrusions retreat
frantically lock this mental door

“Not today”, as I silently weep

via Daily Prompt: Symphony

8 thoughts on “Age Of Solitude

Comments are closed.